Second chance bank accounts
A bank said no. Now what?
We compare 24 low-cost checking accounts, including ones built for people who've been turned down before, and show what each provider says it checks. 11 have no monthly fee and no overdraft fees.
Fees and terms last checked October 30, 2026.
They say they don't check
These 4 providers say, on their own pages, that they don't use ChexSystems or a credit check to open an account.
Compare all 24 accounts
24 accounts
| Account | Monthly fee | To open | Overdraft | ChexSystems | Where |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alliant High-Rate CheckingCredit union, Bank On certified | $0 | $25 | Fee-free buffer | May check | Nationwide, online |
| Ally Bank Spending AccountBank, Bank On certified | $0 | $0 | Fee-free buffer | May check | Nationwide, online |
| Bank of America Advantage SafeBalance BankingBank, Bank On certified | $4.95 | $25 | No overdraft fees | May check | Not stated |
| Capital One 360 CheckingBank, Bank On certified | $0 | $0 | Fee-free buffer | May check | Nationwide, online |
| Cash AppApp (partner bank) | $0 | Not stated | Fee-free buffer | Not stated | Nationwide, online |
| Chase Secure BankingBank, Bank On certified | $4.95 | $0 | No overdraft fees | Not stated | Not stated |
| Chime Checking AccountApp (partner bank) | $0 | $0 | Fee-free buffer | Says it doesn't check | Nationwide, online |
| Citi Access CheckingBank, Bank On certified | $5 | $0 | No overdraft fees | May check | Not stated |
| Current AccountApp (partner bank) | $0 | Not stated | Fee-free buffer | Says no credit check | Nationwide, online |
| Dave CheckingApp (partner bank) | $0 | $0 | No overdraft fees | Says no credit check | Nationwide, online |
| Fifth Third Express BankingBank, Bank On certified | $5 | Not stated | No overdraft fees | Not stated | Not stated |
| GO2bankBank | $5 | Not stated | Charges overdraft fees | Not stated | Nationwide, online |
| KeyBank Hassle-Free AccountBank, Bank On certified | $0 | $10 | No overdraft fees | Not stated | 15 states |
| nbkc Everything AccountBank, Bank On certified | $0 | $0 | Not stated | Not stated | Nationwide, online |
| OnePay CheckingApp (partner bank) | $0 | $0 | Fee-free buffer | May check | Nationwide, online |
| PNC Simple CheckingBank, Bank On certified | $5 | $25 | No overdraft fees | May check | Not stated |
| Regions Now CheckingBank, Bank On certified | $5 | $10 | No overdraft fees | May check | Not stated |
| SoFi Checking and SavingsBank | $0 | $0 | Fee-free buffer | May check | Nationwide, online |
| TD Essential BankingBank, Bank On certified | $4.95 | $0 | No overdraft fees | May check | Not stated |
| Truist Confidence AccountBank, Bank On certified | $5 | $25 | No overdraft fees | May check | Not stated |
| U.S. Bank Safe Debit AccountBank, Bank On certified | $4.95 | $25 | No overdraft fees | Not stated | Not stated |
| Varo Bank AccountBank | $0 | $0 | No overdraft fees | Says it doesn't check | Nationwide, online |
| Wells Fargo Clear Access BankingBank, Bank On certified | $5 | $25 | No overdraft fees | Checks, may still approve | Not stated |
| Woodforest Second Chance CheckingBank | $11.95 | $25 | Charges overdraft fees | May check | 17 states |
Sponsor this page
Reach people opening a bank account after a record or ChexSystems problems. One labeled sponsor per page, and it never changes our facts.
See sponsorship optionsHow to read this table
ChexSystems shows what the provider itself says. “May check” means its account agreement says it can pull a banking-history report when you apply; many of these accounts still approve people with past problems. “Says no credit check” isn't the same as “doesn't check ChexSystems,” and we keep the two apart.
Bank On certified means the account appears in the Bank On directory of accounts that meet its national standards for low cost and no overdraft fees.
Apps such as Chime and Current aren't banks. Your money sits at a partner bank, and each page names it.